“Is this thing on?”: My first open mic night


Brave enough

I’ve been playing guitar for a year or so and I got the nerve to play my first open mic night Friday. I used to sing different places with a couple of friends but it was the first time I had played the guitar in public. I’ve got a ways to go before I’m proficient on the guitar (and singing for that matter), but everyone’s gotta start somewhere. I happened to start with a song that has three chords.

I played at Unity of Kanawha Valley ‘s monthly open mic where Ron Sowell, of the Mountain Stage band, hosts. Everyone who recommended it was right –the audience was kind and encouraging and, most importantly, quiet. The bar open mic night scene is fun but it can be difficult to sing over a loud, drunk crowd, especially when you’re just starting out. Plus, at a church, people are basically obligated to…

View original post 18 more words

Leave a Reply

